Skip to the content

Howard County Sheriff's Office

Sheriff’s Department and Detention Facility
101 Isaac Perkins Blvd.
Nashville AR. 71852

Phone: 870-845-2626
Fax: 870-845-7542
Emergency: 911


The mission of Howard County Sheriff’s Office is to protect the lives and property of citizens of this community, to preserve the peace and prevent crime and disorder while guarding personal liberties prescribed by law.

History of Howard County Sheriff’s Office

Howard County was formed in 1873. Howard County encompasses approximately 600 square miles. The county's population is approximately 13,789. The current Sheriff’s Office and Detention Facility was built in 1993. The Dentention Facility capacity is forty one. Twenty-one different sheriffs have served Howard County since it was formed. Sheriff’s are elected for two years terms in Arkansas.

The Howard County Sheriff's Department consist of eleven officers and is led by Sheriff Bryan McJunkins.

Five Reserve Officers

Jail Administrator Jana Tallant and eleven jailors and dispatchers


Howard County Tax Collector's Office

421 North Main Street
Nashville, Arkansas 71852

Pay Your Taxes Online

Visit the Howard County Tax Collector ePayment Service Site. This site was created to give taxpayers the opportunity to pay their taxes online. 

Howard County’s government operates from the county seat of Nashville. The county courthouse, which is listed on the National Registry of Historic places, was built in 1938-39 and is located on North Main Street.